2015, the year I read everything and what 2016 looks like from here

87

2015 is over!  I cannot believe it!  It’s been a really crazy year but I can’t believe that it’s almost gone.  This year saw so many things for me.

I started a new blog! (found here)  It’s about my weight loss journey, becoming a first time runner and other fun things I’ve learned about myself.

I planned and hosted the most successful adult program in my library’s history, a Sci-Fi & Fantasy Festival! (you can see photos here)

And I actually met and then surpassed my reading goal on Goodreads! (found here)

I went a little bit out of my comfort zone with  my reading last year and I’m glad I did.  For one thing, I actually read not one but four comic books!  I had never even bought a comic until the new Star Wars by Jason Aaron came out.  But now, I’ve not only bought most of the ones that are out, I’ve also bought some of the spin off series and actually read them!

I listened to five audiobooks and I’m surprised because I thought it was actually more.  As I’ve never listened to or read the Harry Potter series, I’ve been making my way through those and I found that book five, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, was so far the most painful book for me to read.  I thought I had been reading it for months and months and months when in reality it had only been about six weeks.  But OMG so painful!  I had no idea my tolerance for adolescent angst was so low.

I finished six series, some I had been reading for awhile and some I picked up and read all in one sitting.

In all, I’ve finished 51 books last year!  That’s a record for me, for sure.  For 2016, I’ve set a goal of 65 books!  But more specifically than that, I plan to break it down and read a greater variety.  I know I want to listen to at least one audiobook a month, or twelve total for the year.  I want to read at least five graphic novels because that’s something that is hard for me to read.  For whatever reason, the graphic and text model is much harder and slower for me to read than just text.  And I plan to follow some of the many reading challenges that can be found online.  I haven’t picked out which ones I’m going to tackle yet but I AM looking forward to expanding my reading horizons.

Cheers, and happy reading!

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Book Review, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

