When the Rogue Returns by Sabrina Jeffries

When the Rogue Returns by Sabrina Jeffries

I adore historical romances.  They are so much fun to read.  And Sabrina Jeffries’ When the Rogue Returns was no exception.

Isa and Victor Cale are young and in love.  She is an aspiring jewelry maker and he is a soldier returned home from military service working as a night guardsman.  One night, Isa’s sister and brother-in-law use Victor and Isa to steal the crown jewels.  Isa is whisked away from her home by her sister under the belief that Victor will soon be joining them.  Fast forward several months and Isa has found herself unexpectedly pregnant and Victor has still not come for her.  Isa is convinced that Victor has betrayed her and decides to run away from her sister and forge a new life for herself and her child.

10 years later, Victor finds himself unexpectedly face to face with the woman he loved and the woman who betrayed him.  He’s been hired by a wealthy duchess to look into her son’s relationship with Isa.  Victor has no idea what he’s getting into when he agrees to the task.  Uncovering the truth and dealing with ten years worth of hurt feelings is a  huge undertaking.  Will Victor and Isa make it through or will they lose each other, forever this time?

My thoughts:

I received this book as an ARC (advanced reader copy) from NetGalley.  I am so glad that I did!  I devoured this book in one afternoon.  This is the first book by Sabrina Jeffries that I’ve ever read but it certainly wont be the last.  She is the bomb.  Because this book was so good, I wont go too much into detail about the plot.  It was fun and unexpected.  It was also refreshing because it was not set in traditional-historical-fiction-England.  Instead, the majority of the book takes place in Edinburgh, Scotland.  One thing I really liked about this book was that the characters tackle their problems head on.  Once they find each other again, there’s no pussy-footing around the issues between them.  The chemistry between them is rich and undeniable.  There were plenty of twists and turns that kept me guessing and I didn’t expect what happens at the end.  This is a truly delightful historical romance that will keep readers wanting more and more from this author.  I’m hoping I can plow through a few more ARCs that I have and then get back to one of my new favorite authors, Sabrina Jeffries. 

XOXO

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

