Happy New Years!

*Note: Obviously the 12 Books of Christmas became the 5 Books of Christmas.  Life got busy and I didn’t get around to posting all 12 reviews.  However, this year will bring more reviews and lots more fun!*

It’s New Years, y’all!  Well, it’s a few days AFTER New Years but I’m super excited about this.  I love New Years because it promises new beginnings and better things to come.  It also signifies the end which in this case doesn’t bother me so much.  It’s been a long year.  Hubby had thyroid surgery in February then we moved in June, graduated with our Masters in August, Hubby started his PhD also in August and that took a lot out of both of us.  Also, I managed to only lose about 10 pounds the whole damn year which frustrates me to death.  I DID however finish graduate school and subsequently get a full time job at my most favorite library!

I have big hopes and plans for the new year.  I’ve dubbed 2014 the year of Me.  I love taking care of my family but it takes a lot out of me and in the past I haven’t put nearly as much energy into taking care of myself as I have into caring for everyone else.  That’s going to change this year.  I’m going to read more, bake more, craft more, play more video games, travel more and relax more.  I’m going to work out more and get to place where I’m comfortable with my body and, subsequently, myself as a whole.  I’m going to paint my nails and drink more tea and just do all the little things that I really enjoy but have taken for granted.  I’m also hoping to blog more consistently.  I don’t think I’ll ever be someone who blogs every day but I’m hoping for at least one post every week or 10 days.

I’ve struggled with a few things this past year.  One of them was money, the other was comparing myself to others and finding myself lacking.  Money is something that’s always been really hard for me to deal with.  I grew up poor, we lived in my grandparent’s house and my grandparents paid a lot of the bills.  We shopped at Walmart for everything, including clothes, and I got made fun of for it.  When I got my library job I started changing my spending habit to make up for how I’d felt growing up.  Now, I’ve got a Bachelors and Masters degree and a mountain of student loan debt to plow through.  So one of my main goals this year is to set up a budget that will allow me to get through as much of my debt as possible.  Because I have big plans for the future, big expensive plans.  Hubby and I would like to buy a house as soon as he finishes his PhD.  We’d also like to buy into the Disney Vacation Club because we’ve decided that’s where and how we want to spend a lot of our vacations.  But those are both expensive so we have to save up for them.

My other big goal this year is to work on my self esteem.  It’s very low, so low it really doesn’t hardly exist.  But I’m hoping to work on that this year.  It’s going to be year of personal growth and reflection.

I know I’ve given myself a lot to work on but I think it’s all about building better habits and once I’m in the habit, it’ll be easier.

So tell me, what are your resolutions?

XOXO

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Years!

  1. Nikki R. says:

    Self esteem is something everyone struggles with at some point, but I hope you know you’re gorgeous and awesome. All anyone has to do is hang out with you five minutes to know that. Or hang out with you and Matt for about one minute and see how crazy about you he is!

Leave a Reply

