Weekend Good Read: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer Armentrout

Welcome to the Weekend Goodreads!  Each week(ish) I will post about a book I’ve read recently.  Don’t worry, there wont be too much plot involved, mostly just my thoughts and reactions to the work.

Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer Armentrout

***WARNING: SPOILERS BELOW***

Truth be told, I absolutely adore young adult literature.  Especially the paranormal kind.  I’ve found that YA authors in general are more creative and inventive and tend to tell a more interesting story, at least to me.  I ended up reading Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout under odd circumstances.  Our teen librarian asked me to read it to make sure it was appropriate for the teen collection or should it be in the adult department (i.e–do they have sex and how explicit is it?)  Obsidian had been on my to-read list for awhile so I agreed to read it.  And boy am I glad that I did.

Obsidian is the story of 18 year old Katy.  She and her mother move to middle-of-nowhere West Virginia to try and escape the pain of her father’s passing.  Katy’s mother is thrilled to discover that living next door are two teens Katy’s age and encourages Katy to reach out to them.  For her mother’s sake, Katy stops by her next door neighbor’s to ask for directions to the grocery.  Here she meets Daemon Black.  He is tall, dark and handsome with amazing green eyes and an attitude to make all of that not matter.  He sets Katy’s teeth on edge.  His twin sister Dee, however, is sugar sweet and soon she and Katy become inseparable, much to the dislike of Daemon and his friends.  A freak accident ends up with Daemon revealing revealing his true identity to Katy in order to protect her.  Yep, he’s not human.  Not by a long shot.  He’s an alien, one of many living in this middle-of-nowhere town.  After their planet was destroyed, the Lux came to Earth and have been living amongst humans for decades.  But now, Daemon has risked himself, Dee and their entire alien “family” for Katy and the Lux are NOT HAPPY.  But they’ve got bigger problems on their hands.  For the Lux shared their alien homeworld with another species, the Arum.  Where Lux beings are pure light, Arum are all darkness and shadows and they’re continuously searching for the Lux.  The Arum situation comes to a head and Katy risks her life and everything important to her in order to save Daemon and Dee.  Is she successful?  Do the Lux survive the Arum battle?  To find out, read Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout.

My thoughts:

Damn, but I did love this book.  No, loved isn’t strong enough.  I DEVOURED this book.  In fact, I devoured this entire series, all four published titles, in about three days.  I ended buying two of them as Nook books because the library copies were all checked out.  I absolutely could not put these books down!  They’re perfect for anyone who loves teen paranormal romances but is burned out with all the vampires and werewolves.  Also, if you were a fan of the 90’s TV show Roswell then you’ll totally love these too.

I really love Katy.  She’s a sweetheart.  She’s also a mega book lover and book blogger.  Seriously, a good portion of the book series is devoted to her fan-girling and swooning over books.  How could I not love her just for that?  🙂  But she’s also a major badass and she takes on some Arum that are threatening Daemon just because.  She doesn’t like him (yet).  She and Daemon aren’t getting on.  But when he’s in danger she comes to his rescue, not once but twice.

Now, Daemon….

He’s so dreamy.  I’ve never really had a major book boyfriend or book boy crush but Daemon is definitely it.  He is so awesome and he loves so hard and so fiercely.  He loves Katy almost instantly but still does his best to keep her at arms length so that she stays safe.  Those instances when he actually does let her in are breathtaking.

I think I really enjoyed these books because it was a fresh idea.  It wasn’t the same old boring vampire story that started with Stephanie Meyer.  It also wasn’t werewolves.  The writing is good and the story line itself has just enough twists and turns and unexpected occurrences to make me buy two of the books just so that I didn’t have to wait to read them.  Of course, it wasn’t until AFTER I had finished Origin (Lux #4) that I realized that the fifth and final book doesn’t come out until next year.  August of next year to be precise.  Oh f*** me, how am I possibly going to wait that long?!  Thankfully, book six in the Mortal Instruments series (City of Heavenly Fire) comes out in March and The Book of Life, the last of the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness comes out in July (HALLELUJAH!).  And then, Downton Abbey and Sherlock both start back in January (we’ll get to Sherlock later…too many feels).  So it’s not like I wont have anything to keep me occupied between now and then.  But come on, haven’t you ever been in my same position?   It’s going to be a long year, waiting for the conclusion of the Lux books.  In the mean time, go out and read them!  You’ll love them, I promise 🙂

XOXO!

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

