Fall, the best time of year

I have always loved fall.  There is something so soothing and peaceful about the colors and the changing leaves.  Crisp cool air.  Fall brings with it some much needed relief from the oppressive Alabama heat.  Seriously, Birmingham heat is the worst.  It’s a wet, nasty heat that doesn’t have the benefit of a beach nearby.  Fall also brings things like outdoor art shows and, of course, Halloween and Thanksgiving.

October is the busiest month of fall.  Three weekends out of the four (or five, depending) there’s something amazing to do.  The third weekend is my  most favorite.  It’s the Kentuck Festival of the Arts in Northport, AL.  The park it’s held in is HUGE and there are more than 250 vendors.  It’s one of those rare weekends were Hubby, Sibling and I all take off of work and just enjoy the experience.  And it’s always an experience.

2013-10-19 11.27.44

Sibling and Me

2013-10-19 11.27.54 HDR

Me and Hubby

Sibling, me and Hubby

Because Kentuck is so much bigger than the other local art shows, there is plenty of demonstration space within the park.  Sloss Furnaces does iron castings on-site and anyone can purchase a block to carve and have cast.  I’ve never done that but it’s something I’d like to do in the future.

2013-10-19 13.08.39 HDR

Sloss Furnace getting their stuff set up. There was FIRE!

2013-10-19 13.34.12

Also, maybe I spent too much. Oh well 🙂

We got some really great art pieces that I can’t wait to get framed and hung.  If you ever get the chance to stop by Kentuck you definitely should.  It is completely worth is.

Since it’s 1am and I’m just now getting this post up, I’ll do another one later today so I’m all caught up.

XOXO

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

