Living

In this, my post-grad school era, I have found myself with both lots of free time and not enough free time.  I’m not sure which one I preferred.  I have been fortunate enough to find myself with a full time job at the very same library I’ve been working at for the past seven years.  And I know, ok, I KNOW how unbelievably lucky I am to work where I work at all, much less full time.  Having a ALA-accredited library school only 45 minutes away makes finding even part time library work grueling and disappointing so I know how lucky I am and I thank my stars every day that I get to come to work.  But before I had a full time job, I had more free time.  And I discovered interests.  What I’ve discovered now is that there are not enough hours in the day to do everything that I’m interested in.

I love to read (that should be a given) but I also love watching TV (and do I have an amazing show to share with you….which you’ve probably already heard of and watched but it’s still new-ish to me) and then I love to sew and craft.  In order to pursue one thing I’m neglecting the other things I love.  I’ve been catching up on shows through Netflix and discovering new ones which means I’m not reading.  And when I have been reading, I’ve been reading fanfictions.  Yes, librarians can and do read fanfictions.  There are some especially well written ones out there!  And I’ve also found myself dying to become an Anglophile.  I’ve even taken to reading The Guardian on a daily basis.  Periodically I do this; I find all things British to be so much more appealing that American things.  We’ll call it ancestral nostalgia.  🙂

I made up my mind that starting today, I’ll make the time to do at least two things that I love.  Maybe I can watch TV and craft (I’m working on my Halloween wreath, pics coming soon!).  Or listen to an audiobook while I drive (that counts as reading).  I just want to be a more active participant in my own life.  I don’t want to be tired and have nothing to show for it.  I want to be TIRED in the best possible way and know that I really lived today, that I did something worthwhile and made some sort of positive impact on the world, even if it’s just putting happiness “out there”.  I’m going to blog more, I promise, because even if no one is reading this, maybe someday someone will and they’ll laugh at something I said or go to their local library and check out a book that I recommended.  Who knows?  That’s not the point.  The point is to live and do, regardless of who notices.

XOXO

~Me

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

