Friday Good Read: Single in Suburbia

Welcome to the Friday Goodreads!  Each week(ish) I will post about a book I’ve read recently.  Don’t worry, there wont be too much plot involved, mostly just my thoughts and reactions to the work.

Single in Suburbia written by Wendy Wax

So, the Friday Goodreads on a Saturday night?  Better late than never!  🙂

Amanda has been dumped, after 18 years of marriage, for a woman half her age. Struggling to make ends meet in a town that is wealthy and judgmental and left to raise two emotionally overwhelmed teenagers is almost more than Amanda can bear.

Candace, three times married AND divorced, is working to overcome the power struggle between her and her mother. “Hurricane Hannah”, as Candace’s mother is not-so-affectionately known, thinks she knows what is best for her daughter and uses her ability to play on Candace’s guilty feelings to keep her in line.

Then there’s Brooke. She’s the “second wife” and is ostracized for it. She’s also keeping her past a secret and when it finally comes out, it very nearly destroys her marriage.

What brings these three women together is the baseball league in their town.  Amanda and Brooke’s sons play on the team while Candice is dating the coach.  At first glance these women have nothing in common and start off on a frosty foot.  Eventually, though, the hardships each is enduring brings them together in an unexpected way.

I really loved this book!  It was so good, I almost hated to finish it but I couldn’t stand not knowing how it was going to end.  I didn’t feel like it was a supremely predictable plot, although it does follow pretty standard chicklit formulations.  I want to be best friends with these women.  They each have something to offer the collective group and despite coming from completely different paths in life, manage to put their differences aside to become best friends.  I just adore them.  As much as I liked Hostile Makeover (also by Wendy Wax), I loved this one so much more.  It just resonated with me, probably because now that I’m not in school, I’m trying to make a place in the world for myself and reinvent myself, post-school.  Like Amanda, something that has been a huge, integral part of my life for 18+ years is over and we’re both trying to redefine ourselves.  Again, she really needs to be my friend 🙂

If you’re looking for a light, enjoyable chicklit or beach read, definitely pick up Single in Suburbia.  It will entertain you, make you cringe and laugh out loud and make you feel good about yourself at the end.  And really, that’s what books should do anyways, right?

Next time I hope to be reviewing some of the ARCs I got from Netgalley.  I just joined this week but I’ve already gotten a few ARCs and can’t wait to get started reading them.

XOXO

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

