Making Your Own Way

One of the biggest challenges within the library world today is making your mark.  It’s hard, at least for me, to really feel like I’m leaving behind a legacy within my library and building for myself a career that I can be proud of.  It’s safe to say that I’ve already made a mark within my library through the programming for adults that I’ve done.  I’ve had great success bringing in new patrons through several programs, especially our After Hours @ the Plaza: Game Nite.  But what if your library does not do a lot of programming?  What if you don’t have the resources or the ability to program?  How else can you make your own way?  I’ve recently decided that I want to be the go-to person for certain genre read-alikes.  I really love reading young adult/new adult titles but as an adult librarian I don’t often get to recommend those.  So, instead I’ve decided to focus on some other genres that I enjoy: historical fiction, chicklit and cozy mysteries, specifically crafting mysteries.  I think this is one of the best ways an individual can make their mark within the library world.  We all love to read and we all read different things and take away different things from what we read.  I’ll let you know how it goes once I actually get started!

XOXO

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in General Library and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Your Own Way

  1. inked2ways says:

    It’s a difficult decision to forego the genres you like (YA) for the genres you know you should read to best serve your patrons. (If I have to read another J/YA action/adventure…) Good luck!

    • Thanks! It really is a hard decision and I find myself more and more reading what I like and shying away from what I know I should read. But if I can fit a handful of “should reads” in with what I want to read then it’s all good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

