Garlic Chicken ala Pinterest

So Pinterest is like my online crack.  I love it.  I could and do spend hours and hours of time on there pinning things to make and bake and create.  One of my favorite things to look for are recipes that I can adapt to meet our lifestyle needs.

Now, I’m not a huge fan of chicken (read: I hate it, it’s nasty).  I’ve been trying to find some recipes that sounded appealing to me, the non-chicken lover.  Several people pinned a recipe for garlic chicken and it sounded delish.  However, after reading over the reviews from other people who had made it, I was less than enthusiastic about making it.  One of the biggest challenges for me as a chef (not baker) is seasonings.  In baking, one doesn’t rely on seasonings the same way one does when cooking.  So when I read how bland this chicken was, I didn’t quite know what to do.  Then inspiration struck!  I would make my General Tso’s chicken sauce and use that as the base/sauce to bake the chicken!  It called for garlic and brown sugar, all I had to do was add a few extra ingredients!  Genius!

(Modified) Garlic Chicken

1/4 cup corn starch

1/4 cup veggie oil

3 tbsp brown sugar

8 garlic cloves (or approx. dehydrated)*

3 tsp ground ginger

1/4 cup gluten free soy sauce (La Choy is great, but last night I used the Target brand)

1 tsp red pepper flakes

6 large chicken breasts

6 pieces of onion

Mix everything together in a four cup glass measuring cup.  Line a glass casserole dish with foil, place the chicken breasts in the pan, top with the pieces of onion, and salt and pepper generously.  Pour the sauce over the chicken, making sure some of the garlic chunks are on top of each chicken piece.  Cover the dish with foil and bake at 425 for 30 minutes.  Voila!

I knew I already loved the General Tso’s chicken recipe but this modification was just as tasty.  The chicken was very moist and flavorful and, interestingly, a bit spicy.  The sauce solidified in the pan to almost a jelly-like consistency but the chicken just lifts right out of it.  To go with this, I made up another batch of the sauce and cooked green beans in it (like you’re actually supposed to for the General Tso’s).  I was worried that since I was using basically the same sauce for both components that they’d taste the same; however, that was not the case.  The chicken was spicy and gingery while the green beans were sweeter and the sauce thickened up around them and was sooooooooooo good.  Unfortunately we inhaled it too quickly for pictures but I guarantee you wont be disappointed if you make it!

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

