Friday Good Read: Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy book 2)

Welcome to the Friday Goodreads!  Each week(ish) I will post about a book I’ve read recently.  Don’t worry, there wont be too much plot involved, mostly just my thoughts and reactions to the work.

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Shadow of Night written by Deborah Harkness.

I’m back!  Apologies for taking a week off.  My sweet handsome Hubby had surgery to remove his thyroid last week and I’ve been taking care of him.  I am happy to report he is on the mend!

Alright, back to the book review portion of this blog…

***WARNING: SPOILERS BELOW***

Shadow of Night picks up where A Discovery of Witches leaves off.  Diana and Matthew have stepped back into 1590 England, to Matthew’s estate.  They have gone back in time with the sole purpose of finding a teacher for Diana, someone who understands her magic and can help her control it.  While there, Diana is delighted to meet Matthew compatriots: The School of Night.  The School of Night was made up of Sir Walter Raleigh, Christopher Marlowe, George Chapman and Thomas Harriot.  Because of Matthew’s involvement with the School, it takes some time before he and Diana can focus on finding her a teacher.  Eventually they leave the country life behind and move into a house in Blackfriars in London.  It is here that Diana discovers that Matthew is not only part of the School of Night but also a spy for the current queen of England, Elizabeth I.  It is also in London that Diana finds herself a teacher and discovers that she is a Weaver, a witch who can create her own spells.  Diana learns some control of her magic and Matthew continues to work his spy-ness all while searching for the elusive Ashmole 782.

The problem with this book is that I loved it, so so much.  I enjoyed it more than I did the first one, if that’s even possible.  BUT I CAN’T REMEMBER EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENED!!  And I can’t find the best way to describe the book as a whole.  I mean, there was just SO MUCH that happened.  Diana and Matthew get married at his parent’s estate in France and Diana is made an honorary vampire (I kid you not).  The book flip-flops between 1590-1591 and present-day.  There are some really great characters introduced in this one.  My favorite new character is Gallowglass.  He’s Matthew’s nephew, son of one of Matthew’s deceased brothers.  And he’s just fantastic.  Without a doubt I wish I knew him.  He’s one of those characters who takes things seriously but also adds humor to the situation as a way to diffuse tension.  The end of the novel confused me a bit.  I felt like I had missed some really crucial happening until I asked my friend about it.  She felt the same way.  I certainly will say one thing: I cannot wait for the final book to be released!  Last I had heard there wasn’t a release date yet which completely bums me out.  I hope this review isn’t so disjointed that you don’t go read the book because you need to.  You REALLY need to.  It will change your life for the better 🙂

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

