Southern Voices

As librarians we have a unique opportunity to provide patrons interaction with authors they may not otherwise experience.  There is nothing like announcing that an author is coming to the library to get people’s attention.  There’s something about the idea of meeting your literary hero that really excites people.

Every year the Hoover Library puts on our Southern Voices conference.  It’s a four-day-long celebration of southern art, music and authors culminating in an all-day author conference.  We’ve hosted some pretty incredible authors in years past (Harlan Coben, Adriana Trigiani, Emily Giffin, Scott Turow) and this year is no exception.  We also take time to recognize southern art and southern music.  The Carolina Chocolate Drops came two years ago, just one week after they won big at the Grammy Music Awards.  It’s always the third week in February; this year it runs Feb. 19-Feb. 23.

Southern Voices is hands down one of my favorite library events every year.  I love getting to meet the authors, most of whom I’ve admittedly never read before.  Image

(It’s Emily Giffin and me!  I love her so so much!  She’s absolutely been my favorite author to come visit. And I had actually read some of her books before she came.  She was AWESOME.  If you ever get the chance to meet her, do.)

This year we are excited to host the talents of Lisa See, Dorothea Benton Frank, Ron Rash, Wiley Cash, Grant Jerkins, Tayari Jones, Michel Stone and Wendy Wax.  Our honored artist is Alexi Torres.  Our musical guest for the week is Leo Kottke.  The week will run like this:  Tuesday night is the Artist Reception honoring Alexi Torres.  Patrons can come mingle with the artist and view some breathtaking pieces on display here in the library.  Leo Kottke has two concerts scheduled, one Wednesday night and one Thursday night.  Friday is “A Evening with Lisa See” which is a delightful event which includes an author talk, Q & A, reception and book signing.  Then Saturday.  Saturday is the all-day author conference.  We’re changing things up this year to allow more patrons to attend this part of the convention.  The authors will split their time during the day between the Library Theatre and the Library Plaza.  Both sessions will run simultaneously.  After the afternoon session there will be a book signing.  I hate that I’ll be missing most of it this year but I’ll be around for the afternoon on Saturday and it’s my favorite part anyways!

For more information about our Southern Voices event or to look into purchasing tickets, visit our website at http://www.hooverlibrary.org/sv

About willrun4disney

Hello! Welcome to Will Run For Disney! I'm Krysten and I'm so glad you're here. I'm a crafty-librarian-Sherlockian-wannabe fanshionista-nerd-girl. Also I love coffee and cats and all things Disney. I blog about my adventures as a first time runner, losing weight and gaining the life I've always wanted.
This entry was posted in Library Event/Program and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

